Posts

Showing posts from 2011

Well look at me...

So, recently (as in, since being married...) I've discovered I'm a fairly decent cook. I didn't ever really take time when I was growing up to be in the kitchen with my mom to cook for anything, unless it was mac and cheese or unless I was being forced to do the dishes because let's face it, what kid actually likes doing the dishes? (Unless you're my cousin Natalie, and you don't complain about anything. Ever.) So, having to cook for myself and husband, I've learned I'm pretty good at following directions...except one time, when I was making chocolate chip cookies. I put in 3/4 cup of regular sugar, instead of 1/2 cup...it turned out WAY better, anyway. So that simple mistake was ok. Nay, it was GREAT. It's the only way I make cookies now. Anyway, I feel like I'm proficient at cooking now. I may not be the best and things that my sisters know how to do, I might not, so of course, I feel silly/stupid when they tell me how to do something that the...

Mission Reunion

So, my mission reunion is at the end of the month, and since I mention it, so is Bryce's mission reunion. Both are up in Utah, his in Provo, mine in Taylorsville. Here's the problem. Because he has school that day, we won't be able to make either. And I REALLY want to go. Nearly everyone I served with is home now including my first mission President and his wife. So, it sucks that we can't go up there. It wouldn't really be a problem if it were a regular school day for Bryce. But since it's the last day of the term, there's no way I could ask that of him....again. haha. I guess it just wasn't meant to be! On another note, tomorrow marks my one year mark of being home! Crazy. I can't believe it's been a year already. I was super close to moving up to Utah after I got home, but then I met Bryce. I'm glad for many reasons, too. It wouldn't have been the right thing to do. I would have just been up there to try and figure things out, but who ...

Newly Married...

Ok. So, I've now been married for 2 1/2 weeks. Fun. Scratch that off my list. ...and I thought that once you are married, you would feel different...well...I don't. Though, I did ask a friend of mine who has been married for over a year if it ever changes, and she said not really. It's been good though, don't get me wrong. :) I love being with my best friend all the time. And by all the time I mean when I get home, and when I wake up. He normally works at night, so I go to bed before he gets home...by a long shot. Anyway, life is good. Our new ward is good. That same friend mentioned earlier is in the ward. She actually lives in the same complex as us with her husband. We also are in the same ward as a friend of Bryce's, Tracy and her husband, Justin Bennet. (So she could have some girls and name one of them Elizabeth...hahaha.) Anyway, we're anticipating getting callings in our new ward fairly soon, as well as getting an assignment to speak during Sacrament mee...

Engagement photos/Wedding Invite

Image
So, with just 45 days to go (I've officially started counting down. Before, it was my phone that would tell me when every 10 days would go by, but now I know. Everday.), we have had our amazing engagement pictures taken (Thanks Alicia!) and now we're looking at the different ways Alicia has put together an invite (Thanks again, Alicia!). So far we have a pretty amazing one: Alicia said she has more though, so I'm excited to see those too. I showed my mom, she loves this one! Mom said these are the favorites of her pictures we took. There was another she liked too: Anyway, I love all these pictures! Just wanted to share these with you, because they just look amazing. And just having them on facebook doesn't cut it for me. haha.

Engagement pictures!

It's time! Engagement pictures are happening today! I'm excited...I love to see myself look so good in pictures. :) We're driving down to Huntington Beach where Bryce's sister, Alicia, lives so she can take the pictures for us. She's super good. Even has a website: www.aliciamariephotography.com . Anyway, we aren't going to the beach to take the pictures, too cliché, and Bryce and I have never actually been to the beach together...so...it didn't really make sense to me to go to the beach for this. So, instead Alicia has some places she's wanting to try out. I'm excited. yay. I'll put some of the pictures up when I get them. Should be epic! (and I don't even use that word!) Last night we had a talent show for a ward activity. This week has been a little stressful because of it, but only because people kept canceling. How nice. Even up until the day before, people were backing out. Dumb. So, I had to scramble around and convince people to he...

Let's be honest.

I started this blog so I could have something else in common with my sis-in law, Kristen. And so I could comment on her blog, too. :D I love reading her blogs and seeing what that part of my family is doing day-to-day. Her kids are just so cute and funny, I can hardly stand it. I can only hope that my future kids will be half as cute/funny. And let's be honest, they probably will be.

6 months later

Midway on my mission, I had an amazing compaion, Sis Randall. She was like a companion I had a deep connection with, not that I hadn't gotten along with previous companions (like Sisters Gunnell, Kent, and Cope), but for some reason, this was different. She felt anxiety when I was feeling anxiety, and it wasn't just because I'm influential. Good try, though. A couple weeks ago, she got engaged to her boyfriend. I am very excited for her. Meanwhile, I didn't find out until nearly a week later, and it wasn't from her. It was through one of my previous companions, who found out through facebook. Yes, this may seem silly and juvenile to some, but to me this is a slightly bigger than small deal. I had told her of my engagement within 24 hours. And I know, there are sure to be loads of excuses. I just want to vent. So, I texted her and asked if it was true, her engagement. She confirmed. And then called a moment later. She seemed to have felt slightly ashamed for not havi...

102 days left!

Ok, so I normally only countdown for my birthday, but getting married is a pretty big deal, too. :D We've been looking for an apartment, not religiously, but here and there. And pretty much all the apartments are too expensive for what they are. Granted, we do live in California... so of course things are going to be expensive. Anyway, if we want a good enough apartment, I need a really good job. Which, I fine with. I have an interview tomorrow with an advertising company. I'm pretty excited. Anyway, we have just barely over 100 days left of not being married. That's crazy.

today

Today I had the first big-ish test in my music class...I started the test at 934am. (I wanted to time myself to see how long it would take.) There were 50 questions, and I walked out at 950am. hahahahaha. Good day today, I think. Nothing spectacular happened, accept for the fact that I cooked some pasta for Bryce and put together some brownies for Dalan at the same time. I feel very proud of myself for that. oh, and Kris, if you want to design this blog...go for it! i don't care one bit. You'll probably do a better job than me anyway. hahaha.
Ok, it happened...just like Kristen wrote about. I'm engaged. :D Yay. I think people are more excited about it than I am, but that's ok. I'm excited, but I'm just happy that I know this is actually going to happen. Bryce is exactly who I need, and that's more than enough for me. We're planning on a June wedding (cliché, I know. :D) Whatever. Ok, so, I'm trying not to become overwhelmed with all the planning that is needed. I don't want to be a bridezilla who only focuses on the wedding, not the marriage. Because it's the marriage that is the important part, not the wedding. Not really, anyway. :D These next few months are going to be crazy, but they'll be good.
Well, it's been too long. I should be better at this, like Kristen. *gah* She's almost too good of an example. hahaha. Well, I got that calling in my single's ward. Relief Society --wait for it--President. Yeah, I would have NEVER thought in my entire life I'd be a RSP. Especially in a single's ward. But, whom the Lord calls, He qualifies. I'm currently in school, so far I only got 1 class I tried to add. Chaffey is trying to charge me for out of state tax...I'm fighting it hardcore. The nanny job I had only lasted for about 3 weeks. Not because I'm bad at it, though...I have questioned myself...but rather because there wasn't enough for me to do. And I don't complain. Why pay someone for doing nothing? Totally understandable. So, now, I'm a part time student, trying to decide if she should try and get a job...now thinking she should. Any leads? :D